Skip to content
Sabse Sasta Loan Offer — CIBIL pe Zero Impact
GoCredit
GoCredit AI
★★★★★4.8·No download needed
GET MONEY

Credit line on UPI: which banks and apps offer it

Pay through UPI with your bank's pre-approved credit instead of your savings. Checked on RBI's rules and each bank's and app's own page, 1 Nov 2026.

Not offered a credit line on UPI? See loan offers from 100+ RBI-registered lenders.

Get Money →

No app download · Zero CIBIL impact

Only banks can give you a credit line on UPI, and only if they have pre-approved you. RBI allowed scheduled commercial banks in September 2023 and small finance banks in February 2025; its rules don't cover NBFCs or loan apps. HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank, Axis Bank and Suryoday Small Finance Bank (through Paytm Postpaid) offer it, with limits of up to ₹2 lakh at HDFC and ICICI. Once your bank offers it, you link it in Google Pay, PhonePe, Paytm or PayZapp and set a UPI PIN.

Banks that offer a credit line on UPI

From each bank's own page, checked 1 Nov 2026. Other banks are reported to offer it; we add a bank once its own page confirms it.

HDFC Bank

Credit Line on UPI

Who gets it
Select pre-approved customers
Limit
₹10,000 to ₹2,00,000
Repayment
Up to 45 days interest-free, as the bank states
What you can pay
Allowed merchants only

You set the first UPI PIN in PayZapp. A fee applies to spends above ₹2,000 (slabs in the bank’s FAQ).

Source: HDFC Bank

ICICI Bank

Credit line on UPI, launched with PhonePe

Who gets it
Pre-approved customers
Limit
Up to ₹2 lakh
Repayment
45-day repayment period
What you can pay
Works across UPI apps, as the bank states

Launched on PhonePe in October 2024.

Source: ICICI Bank

Axis Bank

Credit Line on UPI

Who gets it
Customers with a pre-approved loan or overdraft
Limit
Not stated on the bank’s page
Repayment
Not stated on the bank’s page
What you can pay
Merchants, person-to-person, and cash at UPI-enabled ATMs

Payments that don’t match the loan’s purpose are blocked.

Source: Axis Bank

Suryoday Small Finance Bank

Paytm Postpaid

Who gets it
A selected base of Paytm users
Limit
Up to ₹1 lakh a month
Repayment
Up to 30 days interest-free, as Paytm states
What you can pay
Merchants; person-to-person transfers are restricted

Paytm charges a convenience fee.

Source: Suryoday Small Finance Bank

UPI apps where you can use a UPI credit line

No credit line offer from your bank?

See loan offers from 100+ RBI-registered lenders in one place.

Get Money →

No app download needed · Zero CIBIL impact

How to link a credit line on UPI

  1. Wait for your bank's offer. In Google Pay, if your bank finds you eligible, you get a notification. You review the fees, enter the last 4 digits of your PAN, then an OTP.
  2. Open your profile, then Set up payment methods, then Payment methods, then Add credit line, and choose your bank.
  3. Verify with your debit card or Aadhaar, and create a UPI PIN.
  4. Use the same mobile number in the UPI app as the one your bank has.

HDFC Bank: set the first UPI PIN in PayZapp. For 24 hours after your first payment, you can spend up to ₹5,000.

UPI credit line or personal loan?

Credit line on UPI

  • Your bank offers it if it has pre-approved you
  • You pay with it through UPI, mostly at merchants
  • Limits of up to ₹2 lakh at the banks above

Personal loan

  • You apply, and lenders make you offers
  • The money comes to your bank account
  • You can compare offers from many lenders

No credit line offer from your bank?

See loan offers from 100+ RBI-registered lenders in one place.

Get Money →

No app download needed · Zero CIBIL impact

Questions about credit lines on UPI

Can NBFCs or loan apps give a credit line on UPI?
RBI's rules let scheduled commercial banks (since 4 Sep 2023) and small finance banks (since 12 Feb 2025) link credit lines to UPI. We found no RBI permission for NBFCs as of 1 Nov 2026. If an app offers you credit on UPI, check which bank issues it before you accept.
How do I get a credit line on UPI?
Your bank has to offer it. Banks give it to customers they have pre-approved, and the offer shows up in the bank’s app or your UPI app. Once you accept, you link it in a UPI app and set a UPI PIN.
Can I send money to a friend from a UPI credit line?
It depends on the bank. HDFC Bank, Google Pay and Paytm Postpaid allow merchant payments only. Axis Bank also allows person-to-person payments and cash at UPI-enabled ATMs.
Are there charges on a credit line on UPI?
Each bank sets its own. HDFC Bank charges a fee on spends above ₹2,000, and Paytm Postpaid charges a convenience fee. Google Pay shows you the fees before you link. Read them before you accept.
Is a credit line on UPI the same as a RuPay credit card on UPI?
No. A RuPay credit card linked to UPI is a credit card. A credit line on UPI is a pre-approved credit limit from your bank, linked to UPI directly, with the bank’s own limit and terms.

Sources

GoCredit isn't affiliated with these banks or apps; their names are used only to identify them. Terms change, so check the bank's page before you accept. Looking for loans inside payment apps instead? See who lends in PhonePe, GPay and Paytm.

Popular with borrowers

Offers from RBI-registered lenders

No app download · Zero CIBIL impact

Get Money

Need help? Chat with Monica!